Biblical perspectives

Welcome to the ‘Shining with Light’ series
The ‘Shining with Light’ series is based on the nine fruit of the Spirit, a biblical term that sums up nine attributes of a person living in accord with the Holy Spirit. They cover teaching on friendship, emotional and social skills. These truths enable children to shine the best version of themselves.

“What happens when we love God’s way? He brings gifts into our lives much the same way that fruit appears in an orchard – things like affection for others, exuberance about life, serenity. We develop a willingness to stick to things, a sense of compassion in the heart, and a conviction that a basic holiness permeates things and people. We find ourselves involved in loyal commitments, not needing to force our way in life, able to marshal and direct our energies wisely.”

Galatians 5:22-23 (The Message

Jesus is the perfect example of what the fruit of the Spirit look like. When Jesus went to be with the Father, he promised he would give us the Holy Spirt, who will empower us to produce the fruit of the Spirit in our lives (John 14: 15-16).

Our vision is to provide an educational resource with examples of living well with others. Each book is designed to describe what each ‘fruit’ can look like when children are making positive choices in their lives. We choose language that can be used by children in their everyday interactions with others.

The concepts embedded in the books are designed to enable and empower anyone who works with young children to instil positive virtues and values through describing elements of the nine fruit of the Spirit. This picture storybook series is about teaching virtues and values as truths. They include abstract ideas that are meaningfully described through story, rhyme and illustrations, helping children to build emotional literacy. Our Stellar Bear shows us what different virtues and emotions look and feel like. Each story book incorporates a social situation that specifically describes particular skills, qualities and values that assist children to work through problems when they arise.

How do we want our children to live, to be, to belong, to become, to believe?
The Bible clearly tells us that through God, these fruits come from making choices. First, we choose to live Gods way. The Holy Spirit is God and works in us as our helper. In this book series, the Holy Spirit is depicted through a star on the chest of Stellar Bear and friends. ‘Stellar’ means constellation or star. Stars are unique just as we are made uniquely in God’s image. When we put our trust in the Holy Spirit to help us, our light is switched on and the fruit of the Spirit can shine through.

The star reflects the emotions of Stellar Bear, and whispers trusting and true solutions when things go wrong. The star is our companion, our problem solver, our helper to make things right. We are never alone, and God can always be trusted to guide us on the path to right action. All we need to do is stop and listen. The illustrations clearly outline how we can rely on the Holy Spirit as our helper. Through prompts from the Holy Spirit, depicted by the star in the illustrations, children are shown concrete ways to interpret and manage situations, and to find a positive solution to fix a problem using empathy, forgiveness and being humble.

These stories are designed to be used as a springboard for conversations with children. They teach ways of figuring out and living out the desires of the Holy Spirit.

Each book concludes with a positive encouragement to make a conscious CHOICE to be a person who shines with LOVE, JOY, PEACE, PATIENCE, KINDNESS, GOODNESS, FAITHFULNESS, GENTLENESS AND SELF-CONTROL.

When I'm shining with love book, by Wendy Mason and Lisa Maravelis
Kids Light up books Australia
When I'm shining with peace book, by Wendy Mason and Lisa Maravelis
Kids Light up books Australian Authors Lisa Maravelis and Wendy Mason
Kids Light up books Australia
When I'm shining with goodness book, by Wendy Mason and Lisa Maravelis
popular books
Children's Book Series Kids Light Up Gentleness Book
Children's Book Series Kids Light Up Self Control Book Cover